Mother’s Day 2017

Another Mother’s Day has come and the greetings from one to others throughout social networks sends ‘warm fuzzies’ to all of us.  I have always made a point to also recognize those dads and other caregivers out there who are mothers to their children also for whatever reasons there may be.

But this is what I want to really share.  On Friday, I received a text message from a friend in Saskatchewan.  he wanted to share something that had just happened.  I am copying the text here with his permission.

“Howdy chum. Thought you’d find this heart warming. Just posted on FB and Instagram. What a cool afternoon. ❤️D’LISH CAFE, SASKATOON and SANDY BAY FIRST NATION #DlishCafe #RAK #TishaPaget #Bully4U

We are all connected my friends.

I was having tea with my buddy, and coauthor of the youth novel BULLY4U, Mark Eisenzimmer this afternoon when the owner, (one of my BFF’s and fellow World Changer and Empath Extraordinaire) of D’Lish Cafe on Temperance St. in Saskatoon, Tisha Paget came up and asked me if I knew anyone who could use some ball equipment. She has a friend who had a complete set of bases, bats and two bags of softballs that she came into possession of. I told her that I could easily get them into the right hands knowing many of my friends on our northern Indigenous communities are always looking for such equipment.

I loaded the ball gear up, and on my way home stopped by the 7-11 at Assiniboine Dr. and Warman Rd in Saskatoon for my fix (Coke Slurpee…yes I know…bad but we all die sooner or later lol).

Beside me was this car parked and gassing up. Seated in the passenger seat was an indigenous man wearing an Edmonton Oilers ballcap. We chatted about the Oilers for a moment, then I asked him where he was from. He said Sandy Bay. I asked if he knew of any First Nation community that might make use of ball equipment.

He immediately shouted “Yes!!! Sandy Bay. Talk to her.”

Just then a young, gorgeous Fist Nations woman came out of the 7-11 after paying for her gas, she got in her car, and I approached squatting beside her door. Hesitant at first, and no doubt wary about who this old bald white dude was, she quickly warmed up when I told her I worked with the #PAGC and had talked at all their Insigenois Saskatchewan Dene and Cree Nations schools about cyberbullying, teen suicide and prescription drug abuse.

She couldn’t believe when I gave her all the ball equipment shaking my hand and thanking me profusely. She said they were wondering where they could find ball equipment for the kids on the reserve. What a fortuitous meeting for both of us.

Talk about RAK  (RANDOM ACTS  OF KINDNESS) and paying it forward. Thank you so much TISHA PAGET for helping change the world one RAK at a time. ❤️❤️❤️ Please please please stop by Tisha’s Saskatoon cafe, #DlishCafe and try her soups, sandwiches, salads, desserts and massive selection of coffee and tea.

We can make a difference.”

Carol’s thoughts – This is what the world is all about and how we can change it everyday!!!

Screen Shot 2017-05-14 at 8.59.13 AM.png

 

About Carol Todd

Being the mother of Amanda Todd has lead me on this journey shortly after Amanda's death on October 10, 2012. Amanda's prolific You Tube video has been viewed over 33 million times. Through this video, there has been an increased awareness about cyberbullying, social media safety and mental health. www.amandatoddlegacy.org
This entry was posted in Positive Stories, Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

