January 24 – Spirit or spunky – where does it go?

I just wrote a whole paragraph about this, posted it and then it disappeared.  How frustrating.  I am not quite sure what I wrote because I just tend to write.  I spent some time tonight looking for pictures of Amanda in the snow.  People have been asking me again where Princess Snowflake comes from and I tell the stories.  The PS is only recently new – since last March.  It was ‘adoring name’ for her.  OK… it was a bit of sarcasm thrown in.  She was a princess and snowflake fit because she liked them.  The story of snow is a bit boring but interesting at the same time.   On the year she was born .. it snowed starting right after Halloween.  It snowed lots.  More than you would expect in Vancouver.  It shut down ferries, buses, planes, everything.   In Vancouver, we aren’t use to snow that much so when it does, we sort of stop.  Also, Amanda was 14 days past her due date.  So I was getting quite anxious that while it was snowing, she would want to come out and then what.  I didn not want to be one of those moms that ends up on the news having a baby on the side of the highway.   Luckily I didn’t.  She was ‘scheduled’ to come out and arrive she did.  Right in the middle of my Scrabble game with her to be god-mom.  In Amanda’s spirited nature, she didn’t waste anytime popping out after the drugs to induce her.  Her spirit raved on as she grew up.  She was the first to get her face painted with butterflies and rainbows.  She always had hair barrettes in her hair.  She always got tired of them, dropped them on the carpet and then someone would always end up stepping on it and yell for ‘Amanda’.  She would just look at us as if we sprouted horns.  ‘Why all the noise?’ – she would say.  ‘Who left it on the floor?’ – we would say.  ‘Mr Bear’ – was Amanda’s answer.  And she would skip merrily away.  We collected the hair things.  In a jar. And then eventually put them back in the bathroom for the next round.  Spirit or spunk???

Love that kid (my PS) xoxo

But here are the two pictures …. you choose … spirited or spunky???

So 102-0298_IMGmarch 002

About Carol Todd

Being the mother of Amanda Todd has lead me on this journey shortly after Amanda's death on October 10, 2012. Amanda's prolific You Tube video has been viewed over 33 million times. Through this video, there has been an increased awareness about cyberbullying, social media safety and mental health. www.amandatoddlegacy.org
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

11 Responses to January 24 – Spirit or spunky – where does it go?

  1. Sue Hindle says:

    I would say both spirit and spunk 🙂

    Like

  2. Will Burke says:

    I would have to say Amanda was definately filled with spunk.

    Like

  3. la Punisher says:

    I have to say a little of both, Spirit and spunk, What a little cutie.

    Like

  4. merle says:

    From all I’ve read from you, I say both spirited and spunky. Amanda reminds me of my own daughter who is both. I love your stories…I hope they are therapeutic for you to share with others. As I’ve said before, there is no rhyme or reason that I, who live so far away have been so affected, but when you share in this way, I feel as if I really know you and so wish I could be there for you. I guess that I identify as a mom since I have teens of my own, and their paths are not always smooth and straight either. (whose are?) For what it’s worth, I was told by a psychology major that hormones RULE the world. I believe they have a point, as these little chemicals come charging in, when a child becomes a teen. The change appears almost “overnight” when I look back at my own daughters’ transitions. That appears to be the most difficult time in their lives…and ours! Their minds are an enigma to us…lest we forget how we were as teens. I love your story about Amanda putting blame on the “Bear”….how typical! Disappearing paragraphs…hmm…sounds like what happens to me, so now I highlight right away and click “copy” before I’m even done! However I sometimes think “something” is telling me to rewrite, so I just let it go……..

    Like

  5. Spirted spunk! She was a very cute child & you could see that bit of imp twinkling through that everyone was talking about doing the memorial. It’s like we are the center of our own universe when we are children. Why does that ever stop?

    Like

  6. Lisa says:

    I would say spirited. What a cutie.

    Like

  7. jimmyhalley4 says:

    She just looks so cheeky,id have to say spirited,but its hard to decide..

    Like

  8. Rob says:

    Such A Beautiful Picture Of Amanda Looking At Her Cake !!!

    Like

  9. Paul Klarich says:

    I would have to go with spirited!

    Like

  10. terrie says:

    She had spiritspunk 🙂

    Like

  11. Rob says:

    I would definately have to say Spirited !!

    Like

Leave a comment