How social media works quickly ….

IMG_4428

I would have never expected that my post about the memorial stone in my garden would spread about like wildfire.  The stone was given to me after Amanda died by my BBB.  It has been in my garden since and each time I saw it, I thought of Amanda.  Having been away from my home and my garden for most of 2 months, I never noticed my front garden until a friend mentioned to me on the weekend that it was gone.  I was #shocked, #surprised and #saddened that it wasn’t there for me to look at.  Some might think, it’s only a stone.  But it wasn’t. It was a piece of Amanda for me.  Just like the small tree that we planted above the stone.  A snowflake plant.  Something memorable.  Something that I would remember my daughter by.  Did I expect the media to take hold of the story?  Never in a million breaths.  But some did.  #CBC and #VanCityBuzz and #CoqNow and #CKNW. All thoughtful questions.

The stone is a piece of me that has been since there since Amanda’s death.  When you lose a loved one, you hold on to certain things.  The responses I received on my social media accounts have been heartwarming to hear.  I am so lucky to have those out there that care.

If you should see one of these stones, please let me know where I can get another one.  Or if you ‘borrowed’ it, please return it.

Thank you to all who showed their care and concern today.

#missyouAmanda

About Carol Todd

Being the mother of Amanda Todd has lead me on this journey shortly after Amanda's death on October 10, 2012. Amanda's prolific You Tube video has been viewed over 33 million times. Through this video, there has been an increased awareness about cyberbullying, social media safety and mental health. www.amandatoddlegacy.org
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to How social media works quickly ….

  1. Melissa says:

    I don’t even know if this will ever reach Amanda’s mother. I saw her appearance on Dr Phil and am absolutely heartbroken for her. I need her to know my sorrow for her loss. It makes me my heart ache for her. I am going to have my kids who are also now teenagers watch that show to not only not feel alone if they ever find themselves in Amanda’s position, but to also never contribute to another child feeling the way she must have.

    Like

  2. Andrea says:

    I believe my family business can help…Stonemarks Engraving will contact you right away.

    Like

Leave a comment